Twenty, Thrifty and Thriving.

My sense of style is all over the place. If I had to describe my choice in clothing it would fall under the category of “eh, this may work, why not?” The funny thing is when people ask me where I get certain articles of clothing, I usually shrug my shoulders…..because I really don’t know.

Most of my wardrobe comes from….Goodwill (gasp) or other odd and end garage sales and thrift stores. Of course some of my staple pieces come new from name brand stores. I have an addiction to Target that I could totally stop any time I wanted to….but I won’t. What I find the most intriguing about my change in clothing since high school and before is that…I have always shopped in thrift stores.

What has changed is my idea of critically thinking about pieces before buying them. When I was younger I would buy mostly t-shirts and shorts and pants, calling it good at the bare essentials. Not that I would have even told anyone that I bought the outfit at goodwill, for the fear of being judged for being poor or cheap. As I grew up, I realized that I would probably never be able to afford to stay up with trends.

Instead of getting upset, I just started shopping for dresses, skirts, etc that I genuinely liked, threw them together with the occasionally name brand item and pieced together into an outfit me, myself and I would be proud of. The elimination of other negative feedback lead me to feeling just as good about my knee length floral skirt I got for a dollar and a half at a second hand store as I did about my new skater skirts from Kohls.

So I no longer shy away from the idea that most of my clothing doesn’t follow fashion week or that it doesn’t cost more than my tuition to fill my closet each year. I realized I didn’t mind wearing the same skirt more than twice a month and fishing through the racks at Goodwill for a dress for a christmas party.

Because if your fashion isn’t your own, then who are you really getting ready for?

Missy ♥

11401519_10155690537830013_2193860146843896890_n

Leave a Reply

