The Abnormal Events of An Accidental Hipster

I’m sitting in a coffee shop, drinking a cup of black coffee when I gasp……I am literally “that girl” Many internet posts have told me before that hipsters are kind of like that cool gang of older kids from that one Lizzie McGuire episode that write sad poetry and drink coffee and well….I mean….I DO fit that description pretty well.

My friends have been trying to make me face the horribly inevitable fact that I may be…..a hipster? Though I protest every time the subject is brought up. “Guys, i’m just eccentric, not a hipster” and in that moment, as I watch their eyes pierce into my soul I realize that I might have made a horrible realization.

It’s like that moment when you’re listening to the Indie Rock station while scrolling through your Tumblr, posting about feminist rants and obscure 80’s television programming that you may have started to fall into a pattern that you swore you never would. To be one of those children of the 21st century that have no idea how impossibly lame you are but for some reason cling to the idea that if you’re just lame enough, people will respect you.

According to Urban Dictionary, Hipsters are “a subculture of men and women typically in their 20’s and 30’s that value independent thinking, counter-culture, progressive politics, an appreciation of art and indie-rock, creativity, intelligence, and witty banter.” And with a description like that, I can’t say that I could really say that I take that label as an insult. Though that definition was more than likely written by a 13 year old, Arctic Monkeys fan in the middle of Portland, Oregon…. the more I think about it, the more I take pride in describing myself as a hipster.

If being a hipster means accepting every single person for who they are, fighting for social justice issues that are important to me and listening to music that makes me genuinely happy….I’ll take it and while we’re at it, i’ll take my coffee black….because it’s the only thing in my life right now that’s bitter.

Leave a Reply

