Comedy

“For me, comedy starts as a spew, a kind of explosion, and then you sculpt it from there, if at all. It comes out of a deeper, darker side. Maybe it comes from anger, because I’m outraged by cruel absurdities, the hypocrisy that exists everywhere, even within yourself, where it’s hardest to see.” – Robin Williams

I find it almost cathartic to make my friends laugh. The ability to make someone’s day a little brighter is just enough fuel to get me through the day. Most of my “comedy” comes from real life experience and although at the time my life seems to be in shambles, when it becomes restated in front of my friends, I can’t help but laugh myself, laugh AT myself.

To be honest most of my best “material” comes at random points in the day or in muttered words that only few, if any people hear. I am on a swinging bridge trying cross over into becoming confident in being witty, quick on my feet with responses on the other side.

Until then, social media and my best friends have had to deal with my ridiculous sense of humor and my inability to not break out in song every time I feel like it’s relevant to our conversation.

Story time:

One time in land far away in a place i’ll call it “dubland, awoi”, I was the child that never left her television set. My eyes were magnetized to the fictitious realities before my eyes. What I have come to notice is that little Missy was definitely drawn to comedy shows, mostly because I couldn’t handle any other emotion correctly, but also, because I wanted to do that. I wanted to make someone laugh as hard as I did when I watched those Spongebob episodes over and over again until my mother’s head exploded. So as I continued into my teens I watched comedians stand-up routines until I had memorized every skit, gesture and/or song. I was infatuated with the feeling that funny movies, TV shows, etc gave me, a sense of belonging as well as a boost of happiness.

A show that changed the way I thought of comedy was definitely “Flight of The Concords”, I was in awe at how easily these two men were able to make everyday situations feel like they were straight out of a Robin Williams movie. Their songs and skits flowed so effortlessly and every single skit made me laugh. I then began to analyze my own life and develop “skits” in my head to test out on my friends. I took real life situations and added voice inflection and gestures and it actually resulted in…..laughs? My friends thought I was….funny? I was actually in shock at how naturally it seems to roll off of my tongue in strange tangents most sane people wouldn’t travel down. I was content with this feeling.

Now, as a college sophomore, hidden in my dorm room I watch “The Mindy Project” “The Office”, “The New Girl”, “Parks and Recreations” and many others and every time I watch them I continue to foster new ideas for something exciting. Every story I write contains my strange sense of humor in an ability to maybe make someone’s day brighter, have someone relate to my characters and to….laugh at themselves.

563430_4735533145204_1890166521_n

Leave a Reply

